Pall Mall Fine Wines

Hidden in London’s oldest shopping arcade, located behind the Royal Opera House stands Pall Mall Fine Wines – a quaint looking wine bar with tables spilling out into the passageway. We spent a wonderful few hours here sampling the fabulous wine list and looking longingly at the amazing cheese platters being served to other customers (unfortunately, we had dinner booked round the corner after!)…

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 17.44.39.png

I love it when a wine bar does it this way – I mean check out all of those options to try a small glass of. Don’t get me wrong, it’s great having a bottle of wine and all, but it’s so much more fun being able to discover new wines you never would have otherwise tried…I sampled an American Reisling, a bit sweeter than I would normally go for but I loved it! My boyfriend and I visited on a Wednesday evening and over the course of a few hours saw many different types of groups from tourists, to a group of girls catching up, to an after work business meeting! So you really can visit for any occasion.

6ec548_2d26c135e04d4deda4acc1dca64e25a8.jpg

Having said this, Pall Mall Fine Wines is definitely somewhere I would like to come back to in the winter; the interior decor looks amazing, but it was just too warm to sit inside that day! La Cave (an area within the bar) has a piano that customers are welcome to play on and I believe they have jazz evenings on certain nights, which would be pretty cool to see. It’s cosy and comfortable and I can’t wait for a dark, cold evening to pop along and sample some of their reds. Even better and a top tip for visitors; if you happen to have a Taste discount card, you can enjoy food at half price – even at the weekend!

So next time you’re in the Piccadilly/Charing X area, I’d highly recommend popping in for a vino!

 

Leave a Reply

